Sisyphus, My Friend

Nixon’s favourite word was purpose,

As it were to the Greeks.

It was ‘telos’ back then,

But it meant the same.

But how can we live our lives

According to one word

One Philosophy?

If it does not seem real?

If it is all so Sisyphean?

I do not have all of time like that poor man

To push my rock up and down an eternal,

Infernal,

Mountain.

But I think I have found a place for my rock to balance,

And now I have found the easiest route up

(Although it is not the route I always take…)

As Purpose is not the key.

“But what?” You say

“How can this be?

Why do you still push when you can escape?”

To this I must reply to you, my friend:

“I push because I can,

I’ll see you at the top.”

Leave a Reply

