Be Charmed by ‘The Old Man And The Sea’

Image

4.5/5 

A very short novella that won the author the Nobel Prize for literature. It is simple and straightforward, and you can read it as a heart warming story, or you can choose to read into the many depths of meaning that are put in place.

The story revolves around an old fisherman who has had an extended dry spell in terms of the fish he has caught. The novella is set just off the coast off Havana, Cuba, and the story really stirs into action as the man snags a fish on his line that starts towing him further out to sea.

A great read however you wish to look at it and Hemingway has done a wonderful job , if you have a couple of hours free then this is perfect, and a very easy one to re-read!

11 thoughts on “Be Charmed by ‘The Old Man And The Sea’

  1. I’ve never gotten around to reading a Hemingway and would like to this year. Would you suggest this as a good starter or maybe something longer like For Whom the Bell Tolls?

    • Well this is actually my first Hemingway novel, and I would say it’s set my relationship with his writing off on a very good note, I will have to put for Whom the Bell Tolls on my list of things to read! If you read it first tell me how it is, I would be very interested!

  2. one of my favorite authors! for the simplicity and straight forwardness of the language and too… the brunt honesty. great story but my all time favorite of his is ‘The Snows of Kilimanjaro’… first thing i ever read of his and jaw dropped.

  3. Just wanted to say thanks for the helpful review. I’ve been meaning to read this book for ages, but for some reason, I always pictured it as super long and difficult. Thanks to you, I’ve ordered the book from the library and shall read it sometime soon (as in, this year).

  4. Loved this book too, A Farewell to Arms was enjoyable except for the main characters who were annoying,making it an odd sea. This book though nailed it in terms of a great story done perfectly.

Leave a Reply

