Rudyard Kipling’s ‘Just So Stories’

Image

4.5/5

Another great set of childhood stories, these were originally meant for Kipling’s children, and I’m very glad that he chose to share them. He gives answers to why animals are the way they are, and how they they came to be in such a way. My favourite is ‘How the Elephant got its trunk’, although it is not a controversial concept to claim that they all have their own equal charm.

I’m sure this is a book that I will be revisiting many times, and maybe when the time comes to read them to my own children, just as Rudyard did to his (and I’m sure it will be inspiration to write some of my own children’s stories too)!

10 thoughts on “Rudyard Kipling’s ‘Just So Stories’

  1. I wish books such as these were more prevalent in todays schools. Once upon a time books were a huge part of education and now it just seems as if they are phasing out. I hope, as I assume you do, to keep these writers alive in my life and the life of my children. (2 year old and 6 month old) —Wonderful stories are a horrible thing to waste.

  2. Funnily enough, I bought this recently too at a charity shop – one with Kipling’s own illustrations, which are full of little jokes. It’s a nice one to dip in and out of, for adults as well as children. i think Borges never got over reading it.

  3. Thanks for reminding me of this charming group of stories, which I have not reread in many, many years. One of the things I like about Kipling’s work (and I leave aside entirely any analysis of his politics) is his sheer enjoyment in the sound and cadence of language. I think it is from this Just So collection that I remember the phrase… “the great, grey-green greasy Limpopo river…” It rolls quite wonderfully from the tongue, this is language designed to be read aloud!

Leave a Reply

