Shame

A tone of voice

And a few thorned words

That I barely meant,

Is enough

For me to feel my self-inflicted whip.

 

What a fool I can be

When I suddenly forget everything I’ve learned,

Everything I know,

Simply for a tone of voice.

 

It is not me and it never was,

You are what I care about

So why would I let the enemy of spite

Conquer me for even a moment.

 

The only lingering lesson

That holds me

As I realise my voice

Is shock and guilt,

And a promise never to do the same.

5 thoughts on “Shame

  1. Pingback: Shame « hadeelali
  2. Pingback: Shame | nedrian

Leave a Reply

